Nevada offers some of the best trout fishing in the world, drawing anglers from all over to her waters for the chance to land real record breakers.
To keep these waters clean, to keep them loaded with monster trout, and to guarantee that there is plenty of fish for future generations the state of Nevada has established some restrictions on trout fishing specifically.
Below we cover some of the most important things you’ll need to know about these limits and restrictions before you head out with your rod and reel.
What’s the Trout Limit in Nevada?
As of 2021, there are hard limits on the number of fish you can legally take and possess from waters in Nevada. The current maximum limit of trout an angler can possess is 5 per day.
How Many Hooks Can You Have in Nevada?
Nevada legally allows anglers to use three baited hooks at a time on a single line.
Anglers will only be able to use two plugs/lures on a single line if lures are being used to fish for trout.
Connected to your fishing lines, there is currently no limit on the number of attractors, weights, or accessories. Nevada Fish and Game officials strictly enforce these hook rules.
Each angler can have up to two separate baited lines at one time in waters across the state.
Can I Use My California Fishing License in Nevada?
You’ll need a valid Nevada state fishing license to go after trout (or any other fish) on all state waters.
Lake Tahoe is the only place in Nevada that accepts a California fishing license. This is only because the lake is split between the two state borders.
Potential Fines for Fishing without a License in Nevada
Every angler at least 12 years old or older needs to have a valid Nevada license to fish.
Anyone caught fishing without a license runs the risk of being fined anywhere between $25 and $1000 per violation.
Not sure where to buy your fishing license? Check out our article.
How Much is a Trout Stamp in Nevada?
The annual statewide fishing license for all anglers 16 years old or older in Nevada costs $29 for state residents. It is $69 for non-residents.
Nevada requires a trout stamp if anglers want to pursue this species of fish, too. That stamp will cost anglers $10 each year. To learn more about Nevada’s fishing rules and regulations, please visit NDOW.org.