Under current Texas law, you must purchase a valid Texas fishing license before fishing in public waters. If you are caught without a license, you may be subject to a $500 fine. Fortunately, though, you can easily purchase a Texas fishing license through the Department of Fish and Game’s online sales platform.
To order a Texas fishing license online, head to txfgsales.com. You can purchase a license by providing a valid photo ID and proof of residency. The license will arrive within a week and you can use the receipt as a license until it arrives.
Keep reading to learn everything you need to know about purchasing a Texas fishing license online.
Who Needs a Texas Fishing License?
According to TPWD regulations, all Texas residents fishing in public waters must carry a valid fishing license. However, the law does allow exceptions for:
- Minors below age 17
- Seniors born before 1931
- Intellectually disabled persons fishing under the supervision of a medical therapy treatment program
- Intellectually disabled persons fishing under the supervision of another licensed fisherperson
For all non-resident anglers, you will also be required to purchase a limited non-resident fishing license. The only exceptions to this regulation are for persons:
For certain species of fish, you may also require additional endorsements.
Documents Required to Purchase a Texas Fishing License
If you are a Texas resident wanting to purchase a fishing license online, you must provide the following documentation:
- Proof that you’ve lived in Texas for at least six consecutive months (utility bills, driver’s licenses, pay stubs, and any other formal documentation will apply)
- Photo ID in the form of a passport, driver’s license, or government-issued military ID
- Payment via Visa/Mastercard
Standard resident licenses cost $30 while saltwater endorsements cost an additional $5. All online payments are subject to a $5 processing surcharge.
Where Can I Purchase a Texas Fishing License?
There are around 1,700 locations across the state of Texas where you can purchase a valid fishing license. However, if you don’t want to leave home, you can purchase a fishing license online at txfgsales.com. Once your payment and documents have been processed, you’ll receive your license within 7 to 10 business days.
While you wait for your license to arrive in the mail, you can print off the receipt from your order and use it as a valid fishing license for any activities that don’t require a tag. Your license will only be valid for 45 days, though, starting from the day you purchase it.
After 45 days, you must purchase a replacement license if you wish to continue fishing in public waters. If your license does not arrive within 30 days of your order, contact the Texas Department of Fish and Game at 1-800-792-1112, #4820#. You may be able to request an extension on your license.
In order to legally fish in public Texas waters, you must purchase a valid Texas fishing license. Fortunately, you can order a license online by providing proof of residence and a valid photo ID. You will have to pay an additional $5 processing fee for all online orders but you can use the receipt from your order immediately as a valid license.
For getting licensed in nearby states, check out our page.